Jump to content
Accelerated Evolution

Bruce Dickinson- Anthology


Recommended Posts

BRUCE DICKINSON - Anthology DVD Details Surface

Sanctuary Visual Entertainment has set June 20th as the U.S. release date for IRON MAIDEN singer BRUCE DICKINSON's first solo DVD, entitled The Anthology.

DVD Disc 1 is a live performance extravaganza boasting 30 show-stopping tracks, recorded during the '90s as Bruce forged ahead with his solo career. "Dive Dive Live" was recorded at the Town and Country Club, Los Angeles on the "Tattooed Millionaire" tour on August 14, 1990. This was Bruce's first outing as a solo artist with a new band made up of Janick Gers (guitar), Andy Carr (bass) and Dickie Fliszar (drums).

"Dive Dive Live" track listing:

01. Riding With The Angels

02. Born In '58

03. Lickin' The Gun

04. Gypsy Road

05. Dive Dive Dive

06. Drum Solo

07. Zulu Zulu

08. The Ballad Of Mutt

09. Son Of A Gun

10. Hell On Wheels

11. All The Young Dudes

12. Tattooed Millionaire

13. No Lies

14. Fog On The Tyne

15. Winds Of Change

16. Sin City

17. Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter

18. Black Night

The second live-in-concert performance offered up on Disc 1 was filmed over two sweaty back-to-back dates during the "Skunkworks" tour in Pamplona and Gerona, Spain on May 31 and June 1, 1996. Bruce was fronting a new young band, with a new name, and was joined on stage by Alex Dickson (guitar), Chris Dale (bass) and a certain infamous Italian drummer, Alessandro Elena. Originally created for a four-track video EP release in Japan, this is the hour-long "Skunkworks" concert in full, for the very first time.

"Skunkworks Live" track listing:

01. Space Race

02. Back From The Edge

03. Tattooed Millionaire

04. Inertia

05. Faith

06. Meltdown

07. I Will Not Accept The Truth

08. Laughing In The Hiding Bush

09. Tears Of The Dragon

10. God's Not Coming Back

11. Dreamstate

12. The Prisoner

DVD Disc 2 keeps the live-in-concert experience alive with rare footage of Bruce performing in Sao Paulo, 1999 during the "Chemical Wedding" world tour. Almost two hours in length, "Scream For Me Brazil" represents Bruce's last outing as a true solo artist before rejoining the ranks of MAIDEN shortly afterwards. No official film recording was permitted although this film taken from the crowd screen feeds features highlights of the show which later become a live album of the same name. With a new heavier lineup made up of long time songwriting partner Roy Z (guitar), old MAIDEN partner Adrian Smith and rhythm section of Dave Ingraham (drums) and Eddie Casillas (bass), this "bootleg" documents Bruce at his most intense.

"Scream For Me Brazil" track listing:

01. King In Crimson

02. Gates Of Urizen

03. Killing Floor

04. Book Of Thel

05. Tears Of The Dragon

06. Laughing In The Hiding Bush

07. Accident Of Birth

08. The Tower

09. Darkside Of Aquarius

10. The Road To Hell

DVD Disc 3 is an extensive collection of promotional videos made during Bruce's solo career. From his days at EMI through to his own self-produced videos of recent times, each video is accompanied by a short introduction by Bruce himself, discussing the ideas, concepts and eventual filming behind each of the videos. Each intro provides an interesting insight into Bruce's solo career as it progressed and the highlights and pitfalls of producing your own promotional videos.

Alongside the 14 promotional videos, Disc 3 also includes over an hour's worth of extras. The "Tyranny Of Souls" interview was originally filmed as a general interview for press purposes. This is a track-by-track breakdown of the concept behind the songs on the "Tyranny Of Souls" album, providing more of an in-depth look at the writing methods that Bruce has formed with longtime writing partner Roy Z.

SAMSON – "Biceps Of Steel": Bruce made his video debut fronting SAMSON in this rather curious adaptation of the story of Samson and Delilah, filmed at the Rainbow Theatre, London. Filmed and directed by Julien Temple who perhaps was more famous for the SEX PISTOLS movie "The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle", this 15-minute featurette was distributed through-out cinemas as a support feature to Hazel O' Connor's "Breaking Glass" in 1980.

Promotional videos:

01. Tattooed Millionaire

02. All The Young Dudes

03. Dive Dive Dive

04. Born In '58

05. Tears Of The Dragon

06. Shoot All The Clowns

07. Back From The Edge

08. Inertia

09. Accident Of Birth

10. Road To Hell

11. Man Of Sorrows

12. Killing Floor

13. The Tower

14. Abduction

Link to comment

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...