Accelerated Evolution

alright gang, here's my big project

so in 4 months i start my last semester of school and i'm doing my thesis, which is 10-12 works of art working in a theme. i thought for a long time, sleepless nights, about what i know the most about and what i'm into enough to want to do a body of work about and sho nuff, looks like it's heavy metal

i won't get into the logistics of the whole project now since it will sound all artsy and gay, but long story short i'm giving each of (what i consider) the ten most legitimate genres of metal their own drawring/painting. problem right now is that i've got a crazy shortage of black, grind, gothic, prog, thrash, and i don't really know what the essential albums are from power metal. i mean yeah, i've got stuff from each genre but not enough to claim total knowledge of them

so i guess right now what i need from youze guys are lists of the ESSENTIAL prog, black, grind, and power metal albums. try not to geek out and suggest your fave albums, try and be historical. like if someone wanted the essential death metal albums i wouldn't tell them to pick up some Throne of Chaos or Esqarial

after we figure out which albums are mandatory i'll be hittin youze guys up for some tunes. Chrono already knows i'll be raping him of gothic metal for weeks to come :crube:

yeah dude, definite help. thanks

i'm going to have to use my better judgement as this project rolls along, since everyone has their own idea of what goes in which genre. i mean, i have King of the Dead and it's definitely more Heavy metal than Power. but that's just nitpicking...

i was just screwing around in the Metal Crypt and they have a pretty reasonable list of genre histories. wiki is OK, but i've found enough misplacements to know better than to rely on it

for black metal ... i'd go with...

coven - witchcraft

venom - black metal

mercyful fate - don't break the oath

mercyful fate - melissa

bathory - bathory

bathory - blood fire death