Accelerated Evolution

What shall I do about him?

So, I've been friends with this guy for years now. He recently broke up with his girlfriend of 1.5 years. Before they broke up, he had started telling me that he's liked me for a while and always thought he didn't have a chance, etc.

Well, his girlfriend and him broke up because he was always talking about this girl who he met recently named "Megan". (I know his girlfriend pretty well too.) She has even spent the night. She's actually over there right now actually. He's been claiming they are just friends. (In the mean time, myself and him have been getting very close.)

2 days ago however, he told me he asked Megan out, but "just to get to know her." Basically acting like it shouldn't bother me even though I was trying like hell not to throw up or cry when I found out.

I'm not very good at expressing emotions with people who could hurt me, by the way.

He's my best friend so it's hard for me to tell him I don't want to speak to him anymore, but I'm really hurt over this whole issue, and I believe if I wasn't his first interest to begin with, I don't want to be with him. (She is moving away.)

Basically, I'm wondering how I deal with him, and since no one here knows me well I thought I'd get some opinions here. Do I risk it and tell him? I don't really want to be a rebound though. Do I keep trying to hide it all the time? Do I tell him I don't want to speak with him anymore? And what the hell has he been thinking throughout all this?

It's situations like these that inspire me to input my personality into a binary string and live a calm life as a robot somewhere.