Accelerated Evolution

Update: Got my drumkit

Adam

After about a year of playing rock band drums...I've decided it's time for the real thing.

I need help with picking out a kit that's not above 500$ but sounds good and will suit me for a starter kit.

This current one I am looking at is a Tama Rockstar.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Tama-Rockstar-...357-i1392323.gc

Only issue is, I don't think (I'm a newbie to drums now, I only know so much) that there is a ride cymbal. At least, I don't see one. I'd like to have one.

I'd also love to have double bass but I guess that's out of the question, along with double pedals as well. Very pricey.

But uh, yeah, please let me know if you have any other suggestions. If not, let me know how good this kit would do me.

I'll be playing mostly classic rock and almost all of the Metallica songs (except Blackened obviously..)

Thanks!

That kit doesn't come with any hardware at all. It's just the shells. You don't get any stands, no pedals, no cymbals, nothing. I'd suggest looking used. Read reviews of kits in your price range and then look for them on craigslist or ebay. $500 is pretty low for shells and hardware but you could probably find something. A set of new heads tuned correctly can make many drums sound decent.

Adam didn't you just buy a guitar? I suggest not buying a new instrument unless you really commit yourself to guitar, otherwise by age 20 you'll have a full band and not know how to play any of them.

No? I got a guitar 2 years ago I don't really play it though. I took lessons with it for awhile but other than that..yeah.

i've been drumming for about 9 years now, this is a combination of starter kits and gear i'd reccommend.

The Forum (complete Kit)